This is relatively new…

February 10, 2008

…but I thought it was funny enough to bring up again.

During a question-and-answer session, a fan asked each GM whom he would take from the other’s team if given the chance. Cashman picked Jason Varitek, noting he’d like to take the catcher and, “put him [on] another planet,” to cripple the Red Sox.

Who would Epstein pluck from the Yankees?

“I’d take the gentleman on my left,” Epstein said, motioning to Cashman, “and make him [our] scouting director.”

-Mike Puma, New York Post

I’d hate if Varitek had to play anywhere other than Boston, MA, USA, Earth, but I wouldn’t mind Cashman as our scouting director. I don’t like the Yankees, but I don’t really have a problem with Cashman. It’s the Steinbrenners (especially Hank) that I have a problem with.

Leave a comment