True: I have no life.

February 28, 2008

I have decided to record every pitch thrown by Sox pitchers in this game. I’ll post inning-by inning updates.

Disclaimer: I’m getting this information by ear from WEEI. I don’t guarantee this is correct at all. There’ll be gaps. I’ll try and get everything right, though.

Update, 8:08: Gaah. First, my radio mangled the sound throughout the bottom of the fifth and much of the top of the sixth, then Firefox died (how often does that happen? Seriously.) and I lost all of the bottom of the sixth. I hear Craig Breslow did a good job, and I know Hunter Jones did pretty well after giving up a single and quickly getting a double play. Jones through a lot of balls, but did get the outs. I’ll try and get Kyle Jackson’s inning, but the fifth and sixth aren’t going to surface.

FIRST INNING

Pitcher: Justin Masterson (8 pitches, 6 strikes, 2 balls)

First Batter:
Ball
Ground to 3 – GROUND OUT

Second Batter:
Foul
Swinging strike
Swinging strike – SWINGING K

Third Batter:
Ball
Called strike
Ground to 1-3 – GROUND OUT

SECOND INNING

Pitcher: Justin Masterson (9 pitches, 6 strikes, 3 balls)

First Batter:
Called strike
Called strike
Ball
Line drive to 9 – SINGLE (possibly double; the phone rang inconveniently)

Second Batter:
Ball
Strike (unspecified by radio)
Ground to 4-6-3 – DOUBLE PLAY

Third Batter:
Ball
Fly to 7 – FLY OUT

THIRD INNING

Pitcher: Craig Hansen (14 pitches, 11 strikes, 3 balls)

First Batter:
Strike
Strike
Strike – K (sorry, I was totally not paying attention here)

Second Batter:
Swinging strike
Grounder to 5-3 – GROUND OUT

Third Batter:
Ball
Strike
Ball
Bloop to 8 – SINGLE

Fourth Batter:
Called strike
Ball
Called strike
Foul
Swinging strike – SWINGING K

FOURTH INNING

Pitcher: Michael Bowden (11 pitches, 6 strikes, 5 balls)

First Batter:
Ball
Swinging strike
Ball
Pop up to 2 – POP UP OUT

Second Batter:
Called strike
Foul
Ball
Ball
Swinging strike – SWINGING K

Third Batter:
Ball
Ground to 6-3 – GROUND OUT

FIFTH and SIXTH INNINGS are M.I.A.

Leave a Reply

