Honest Mike

February 16, 2008

You can always count on Admiral Timlin for a straight–and detailed–answer.

Question: Have you ever been offered performance-enhancing drugs?

“No, never have. But since I never had that chance to say no, I don’t know if I would have said no. Before they had steroid testing, there had always been, in any sport, a closed-door policy. What goes on back there, goes on back there. To a certain extent, things stay that way, but when you have things like [Roger Clemens’ and Brian McNamee’s congressional hearing], it doesn’t. Everybody wants people to be honest. We all make mistakes. We all screw up. We all sin. We all cuss. Nobody is going to hold that against you usually until you try to hide it. ‘I didn’t do this, I didn’t do this, I didn’t do this. I don’t care what you say, I still didn’t do it.’ Well, some people saw you do it and you still say you didn’t do it. ’Fess up. That’s all somebody is going to look for. Be honest in the beginning and we’ll forgive you.”

He also referred to Andy Pettitte:

“Andy Pettitte didn’t have to say he used it again, but he did. And his account, what was said in the hearing, was, ‘I don’t have to give an account to you. I have to give an account to God.’ That’s the whole thing. You have to be honest. At the end, it doesn’t matter what we think of each other, it’s what God thinks of you and how you lived your life. He used it, as he said he used it, in probably the same way I would have used it had I had the availability to it, through an elbow injury, trying to rehab your shoulder or your knee, or whatever your injury. Because it does help you get back to where you were at 25. There are cells throughout your body that are receptive to it and it’s going to give you a youth feel.”

Leave a Reply

